Reflecting on my 2022 focus words

At the beginning of 2022, I noticed four words which became my focus words. These were Strength, Change, Connection and Power. I posted about that here.

It was definitely a year of change. I took leave for a year to find a good fit work place for me but also to get some downtime after my last workplace. I described my experience at the old place to someone as ‘kind of like a bad relationship’. It was hurting me but was familiar and I felt I didn’t deserve any better.

It turns out I did deserve better. By taking leave and doing some temp work I found a place that fits me. It was good I did – not just for professionally and psychologically. Another big change was the Spouse ended up not working for a fair chunk of 2022. If I hadn’t found a good fit I may have felt compelled to take any offer I got or to return to the previous place. I never got the downtime I wanted and still feel I need but that’s okay. Hopefully that time snd space will come.

Strength: I’m not sure about this one. Does it count if I didn’t lose my mind when I was the only one in our house who was working and nobody else noticed things needed to be done? Surely that demonstrates strength of character or something? Also I may have developed some mental toughness, strength if you will, to deal with some self centred and whiny people over the course of the year.

I still have trouble connecting with people. But the Eldest and The Eldest’s Wife (TEW) moved interstate mid year and I have tried to keep in touch with them regularly but without being annoying. I think it’s working. It’s not as much connection as I want but it’s okay.

I’ve connected quite closely with some people at my new work place. Some of who are moving on but I’m hoping to keep in touch with them. I think for me connection will always be a work in progress. The constant struggle between wanting to connect but worrying about being annoying or imposing in busy life is a balancing act.

My last word for 2022 was power. Like strength I don’t really feel sure about it. I had thought about power in terms of how people relate to one another. Did I take my power back from my previous boss? Yes. I turned down two part time jobs from him early in 2022. Maybe that’s it and that’s okay. I guess I could consider how I responded to power imbalances in relationships whether perceived or real. I feel I’ve started paying more attention to this which to me is a good thing.

So goodbye to 2022 and it’s focus words. I liked having a focus at the beginning of the year but life changed and priorities shifted. I’m happy to try this again and hopefully think about the words more in 2023.

Leave a comment